Do I Need to Call the Police After a Car Accident in North Texas?

Following a car accident, be sure to call the police to file a report.

By Photo Spirit at Shutterstock

If you ever find yourself involved in a serious car accident in North Texas, you’re better off calling the police to the scene. In fact, most attorneys and insurance agencies recommend calling the local authorities before anything else. In many states, including here in Texas, the police must be notified for any significant car accident over a certain dollar amount. A trained law enforcement officer is also an asset in your case. The responding officer will provide a call for emergency medical aid, protect the scene, and document the accident (you want this documentation for your insurance claim).

When to Call the Police After a Car Accident

As we previously described, having an officer at the scene will expedite the situation through the exchange of necessary information. The officer will also file a police report. You can then use this report to file a claim with your insurance agency.

But first, you must know when to call the police to the scene of an accident. Here’s when:

  • If anyone experiences a personal injury, call the police immediately. The dispatcher will notify the police, and the responding officer will call for medical aid if any is required.
  • If the damages exceed $1,000, call the police. $1,000 does not seem like a lot, especially in a car accident. But even a small impact can create over $1,000 worth of damage. You do not want to be liable for the repairs.
  • If you’re unsure of the situation, call the police. According to 911.gov, if you are unsure whether the situation requires police involvement, then call for law enforcement anyway. The dispatch will determine whether or not the case is an emergency and needs a responding officer immediately.

Here’s What to do While Waiting for the Police

In a big city, it can take awhile for the police to arrive. In the meantime, you’re left to your own devices alongside the other party – both of you may be injured or upset.

If you call the police and are told to wait, it could take up to an hour for someone to arrive. In this time, you should:

  • Assess the situation
  • Help anyone who is hurt
  • Gather evidence
  • Write down the names and contact information of witnesses
  • Protect the scene from further damage
  • Watch what you say around the other driver or witnesses

Once the officer arrives, only speak with them about the specifics of the accident. You’ll need to provide some key information to the officer, but be careful of what you say. You do not want to admit any type of fault for the accident or even hint at it being your fault.

If you have been involved in a car accident, contact the Todd R. Durham Law Firm by calling 972-362-0046. We’ll sit down and discuss your case promptly!